Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture

2018 CELA Awards and Board Members Announced at Virginia Tech

CELA (Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture)

The Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture congratulates the 2018 recipients of our Annual Awards of Recognition, and thanks them all for their vast contributions to education and the field of Landscape Architecture.  CELA Past President, Mark E. Boyer presented the Awards during the closing conference dinner at Virginia Tech in March.


2018 Awards of Recognition

Jamie VanucchiCornell University, Excellence in Design Studio Teaching (Junior level)

Sean Rotar, Purdue University, Excellence in Teaching (Junior level)

Margaret Livingston,  University of Arizona, Tucson, Excellence in Teaching (Senior level)

Robert Hewitt, Clemson University, Excellence in Teaching (Senior level)

Brian Davis, Cornell University, Excellence in Research and Creative Work (Junior level)

Richard K. Sutton, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Excellence in Research and Creative Work (Senior level)

Mintai Kim, Virginia Tech University, Excellence in Research and Creative Work (Senior Level)

Cary Gallo, Mississippi State University, Excellence in Service Learning (Junior Level) c

Patsy Eubanks Owens, University of California Davis, Outstanding Administrator Award  

Patrick A. Miller, Virginia Tech University, Outstanding Educator Award

Nadia Amoroso, University of Guelph, Outstanding Communication Award


2018 Outstanding Paper Award | For Landscape Research Record |

Title:” Collaboration tools to support Informed Public Engagement”

Cynthia Girling, University of British Columbia

Kellogg Booth,  University of British Columbia

Ronald Kellett,  University of British Columbia

Narges Mahyar, University of California at San Diego

Kelly Burke,  University of British Columbia

Alix Krahn,  University of British Columbia


2018 President’s Award

Bo Yang, University of Arizona

Susan Apallonio, ASLA’s Education Director


2018 CELA Inaugural Student Awards | For Research of Creative Scholarship |

Vasiliy Lakoba, Virginia Tech University, Student Research Award

Research Project: “Neighborhood Social Survey for Forest Restoration Planning”

Zixu Qiao, Texas A&M, Student Creative Scholarship Award

Research Project: “Climate Change Armor:


CELA also welcomed seven new members to the Board of Directors, and reinstated 1 member to their current position:

Ashley Steffens, University of Georgia, 1st Vice President/President Elect

Hala Nassar, Clemson University, 2nd Vice President

Jun-Hyun Kim, Michigan State University, Secretary & Vice President for Communications Outreach & Publications

Galen Newman, Texas A&M, Vice President for Research & Creative Scholarship

Kirk Dimond, University of Arizona, Region 2 Director

Maria Counts, Illinois Institute of Technology, Region 5 Director

Charles Anderson, RMIT University Melbourne Australia, Region 8 Director

Yiwei Huang, University of California Davis, 2nd Student Director